© Tecserena GmbH 2007 | Imprint | Contact | Home
|Clinical Cases - FONAR Upright™ MRI | Case Study #1
• The FONAR Upright™ MRI
• Publications
• Position Imaging
• The Coils of the FONAR Upright™ MRI
• Contact us
• Case Study #1
• Case Study #2
• Case Study #3
• Case Study #4
• Case Study #5
•Additional Images

The female patient sustained a whiplash injury approximately 40 years ago as the result of a traffic accident.  Since then she has had migraine-type headaches. In the past 1,5 years there have been restrictions in movement of the cervical spine and pain at the craniocervical junction.

Furthermore since January this year she has had tinnitus in the left ear and also a frequent tingling in the left hand.

Functional Imaging in the natural weight-bearing state
Sagittal images, sitting: Neutral, Flexion, Hyperextension

By means of functional imaging in the FONAR Upright™ MRI in the natural weight-bearing state, a clear instability could be proven with maximum displacement of the cranial part of the dens in the flexion position.

The findings :
The Upright™ MRI of the head shows noticeable problems with the dens axis.
During the examination of the cervical spine upright in a natural weight-bearing state a schistasis within the dens is visible. The Upright™ MRI  functional images also show an instabilityof the cranial part of the dens. The sagittal image in flexion shows clearly a ventral displacement of the cranial part of the dens. Retrodental in the sagittal image there is an increase in soft tissue to be seen and in addition, exhibited in the coronar view is a marginal bulge at the atlanto-axial joint on the right with displacement of the spinal cord.

Furthermore a spinal stenosis appears at the level C1/2 slightly depending on the position. 

The diagnosis:
Os odontoideum, dd: old fracture. The pathological restrictions in movement and a small additional ventral situated skeletal element speak rather for an old dens fracture.  There is also a clear instability with spinal stenosis.

Coronar images, sitting, neutral position

Clear schistiasis with a slight tilting of the dens (l).
Visible marginal bulging on the right with a displacement of the spinal cord (r).

This case history was kindly placed at our disposal by Prof. Dr. med. Hans-Konrad Beyer of the Private Practice for Upright™ Magnetic Resonance Imaging Cologne/Germany.
You can reach the site at www.mrt-koeln.de

© Tecserena GmbH 2007 | Impressum / Rechtshinweise | Kontakt | Home
|Klinische Beispiele mit dem FONAR Upright™ MRT | Fallstudie #1
• Der FONAR Upright™ MRT
• Publikationen
• Die Positionen
• Die Spulen des FONAR Upright™ MRT
• Kontakt zu uns
• Fallstudie #1
• Fallstudie #2
• Fallstudie #3
• Fallstudie #4
• Fallstudie #5
• weitere Beispiele

Die hier vorgestellte Patientin erlitt vor ca. 40 Jahren ein Halswirbel-Schleudertrauma bei einem Verkehrsunfall. Seit dieser Zeit hat sie migräneartige Kopfschmerzen. Seit 1,5 Jahren bestehen zunehmende Einschränkungen der Halswirbelsäulenbeweglichkeit und Schmerzen im craniocervikalen Übergang.

Seit Januar diesen Jahres besteht ausserdem ein Tinitus links, des Weiteren häufig Kribbelgefühl im Bereich der linken Hand.

MRT-Funktionsuntersuchung, aufrecht unter der natürlichen Gewichtsbelastung
Sagittale Aufnahmen im Sitzen: Neutral, Flexion, Hyperxtension
Durch die Funktionsaufnahmen im FONAR Upright™ MRT unter der natürlichen Gewichtsbelastung lässt sich eine deutliche Instabilität nachweisen mit maximaler Verlagerung des cranialen Densanteils in der Flexionsstellung.

Der Befund :
Bei der Upright™-MRT des Kopfes zeigen sich Auffälligkeiten des Dens axis. Bei der Untersuchung der Halswirbelsäule, aufrecht unter der natürlichen Gewichtsbelastung, wird eine Spaltbildung innerhalb des Dens sichtbar. Durch die Funktionsaufnahmen im Upright™-MRT kann eine Verschieblichkeit des cranialen Dens-Anteils nachgewiesen werden. Die sagittale Aufnahme in Flexionsstellung zeigt deutlich eine Ventralverlagerung des cranialen Densanteils.
Retrodental ist in der sagittalen Aufnahme vermehrtes Weichteilgewebe und zusätzlich in der coronaren Darstellung eine Randwulstbildung am Atlantoaxialgelenk rechts mit Verlagerung des Myelons nachweisbar. Zudem zeigt sich eine spinale Enge auf Höhe HWK 1/2, leicht positionsabhängig.

Die Diagnose:
Os odontoideum, dd: alte Fraktur. Die pathologische Bewegungseinschränkung und ein kleines zusätzliches ventral gelegenes Skelettelement sprechen eher für eine alte Dens-Fraktur. Dazu kommt eine deutliche Instabilität mit Spinalstenose.
Coronare Aufnahmen im Sitzen, Kopf neutral

Deutliche Spaltbildung mit leichter Abkippung des Dens (re).
Sichtbare Randwulstbildung rechts mit Verlagerung des Myelons (li).

Die hier vorgestellte Fallstudie wurde uns freundlicherweise von der Privatpraxis für Upright™ Kernspintomographie Köln-Rodenkirchen, Prof. Dr. med. Hans-Konrad Beyer, zur Verfügung gestellt. Die Praxisseiten erreichen Sie unter: www.mrt-koeln.de
• Fallstudie #6
• Fallstudie #7
• Fallstudie #8