© Tecserena GmbH 2007 | Imprint | Contact | Home
|Clinical Cases - FONAR Upright™ MRI | Case study #3
• The FONAR Upright™ MRI

• Publications

• Position Imaging
• The Coils of the FONAR Upright™ MRI
• Contact us
• Case Study #1
• Case Study #2
• Case Study #3
• Case Study #4
• Case Study #5
• Additional Images

400.000 rear-end collisions occur in Germany every year. In approximately 4000 cases traumas in the cervical spine area arise, out of which there are 2000 cases where lasting damage can be proven.

The patient in this case sustained in June 2005 a considerable whiplash injury. A MRI examination carried out 4 weeks after the accident had shown a bone bruise in the area of C2 and C3 on the left. An appraisal of the ligamenta alaria and the ligamentum transversum was not possible at this examination.

Due to persistent serious problems, functional MR imaging in the Upright™ MRI was carried out a year later to look for a possible lesion of the ligament alaria or the lig. transversum.

Functional Imaging in the natural weight-bearing state
Coronar images, sitting, bending left, neutral, bending right.
By means of the functional imaging in natural weight-bearing state, the lig. alaria and the lig. transversum can be reliably assessed and a rupture roled out here.
Transverse images, sitting, head rotated left, head neutral, head rotated right.
In the functional image with the head rotated, the contact of the capsuloligamentous structure with the spinal cord was noticeable.

The diagnosis:

By the mean of the diagnosis, upright in the natural weight-bearing state in Upright™ MRI, no evidence was found by analysis of the cervicooccipital junction of a lesion of the lig. alaria, however a subluxation condition of the right vertebral joint between C1 and C2 with an indicated wedgeshaped vertebra form as a moderate effusion formation were found. This indicated the presence of a capsule irritation caused by trauma with the result of a capsule dilatation, which finally explains the now existent subluxation and dilatation of the joint cavity.

Furthermore a very small distance was to be found between the lig.transversum and the spinal cord, in particular in the rotation position and can be considered as an indication that in whiplash injuries with rotation components, a cervical-spinal cord syndrome and/or a cervicocephal syndrome can occur through the impact of the spinal cord in the area of the dens axis.

© Tecserena GmbH 2007 | Impressum / Rechtshinweise | Kontakt | Home
|Klinische Beispiele mit dem FONAR Upright™ MRT | Fallstudie #3
• Der FONAR Upright™ MRT

• Publikationen

• Die Positionen
• Die Spulen des FONAR Upright™ MRT
• Kontakt zu uns
• Fallstudie #1
• Fallstudie #2
• Fallstudie #3
• Fallstudie #4
• Fallstudie #5
• weitere Beispiele

In Deutschland ereignen sich im Jahr ca. 400.000 Auffahrunfälle. In etwa 4.000 Fällen treten dabei Traumen im Bereich der HWS auf, wovon wiederum in ca. 2.000 Fällen bleibende Schädigungen nachgewiesen werden können.

Die hier vorgestellte Patientin erlitt im Juni 2005 bei einem Auffahrunfall ein erhebliches Schleudertrauma. Eine 4 Wochen nach dem Unfall durchgeführte MRT Untersuchung hatte einen Bone bruise im Bereich des 2. und 3. Halswirbels links ergeben. Eine Beurteilung der Ligamenta alaria und des Ligamentum transversum war bei dieser Untersuchung nicht möglich.

Aufgrung anhaltender erheblicher Probleme wurde nun nach einem Jahr eine Upright™ MRT Untersuchung unter Funktion durchgeführt mit der Fragestellung einer möglichen Läsion der Ligamenta alaria bzw. des Lig. transversum.

MRT-Funktionsuntersuchung, aufrecht unter der natürlichen Gewichtsbelastung
Coronare Aufnahmen im Sitzen, links geneigt, neutral, rechts geneigt.
Durch die Funktionsaufnahmen unter der natürlichen Gewichtsbelastung lassen sich die Lig. alaria und das Lig. transversum sicher beurteilen und hier eine Ruptur ausschliessen.
Transversale Aufnahmen im Sitzen: Kopf nach rechts gedreht, Kopf neutral, Kopf nach links gedreht.
In der Funktionsaufnahme mit gedrehtem Kopf wird der Kontakt des Kapsel-/ Band-apparates mit dem Myelon auffällig.

Die Diagnose:

Durch die Funktionsdiagnostik, aufrecht unter der natürlichen Gewichtsbelastung im Upright™ MRT, ergab sich bei der Analyse des cervicookzipitalen Übergangs kein Hinweis auf das Vorliegen einer Läsion der Lig. alaria, jedoch fand sich eine Subluxationsstellung des rechtsseitigen Wirbelgelenkes zwischen C1 und C2 mit angedeuteter Keilwirbelform sowie eine geringgradige Ergussbildung. Dies spricht für das Vorliegen einer traumatisch bedingten Kapselirritation mit der Folge einer Kapselerweiterung, die letztlich die jetzt vorhandene Subluxationsstellung und Erweiterung des Gelenkspaltes erklären kann.

Ferner fand sich eine sehr geringe Distanz zwischen dem Lig. transversum und dem Myelon insbesondere in der Rotationsstellung und kann als Hinweis darauf gelten, dass bei Schleudertraumen mit Rotationskomponente durch den Anprall des Myelons im Bereich der Densspitze ein zervikomyelogenes und/oder ein zervikocephales Syndrom stattfinden kann.

• Fallstudie #6
• Fallstudie #7
• Fallstudie #8