© Tecserena GmbH 2007 | Imprint | Contact | Home
|Clinical Cases - FONAR Upright™ MRI | Case study #4
• The FONAR Upright™ MRI
• Publications
• Position Imaging
• The Coils of the FONAR Upright™ MRI
• Contact us
• Case Study #1
• Case Study #2
• Case Study #3
• Case Study #4
• Case Study #5
• Additional Images

The patient is a 64 year-old male who has suffered for many years from pain in the area of the lumbar spine. 1 ½ years ago an operation was carried out on the spinal column at L4-L5 and a so-called X-Stop implant was successfully inserted which resulted in freedom from pain.

Now the patient is complaining once again of pains in the lumbar spine region, spreading to the buttocks and both thighs.  Whilst lying down, pain does not occur, however while standing and sitting there is a clear increase in pain in hyperextension and pain relief in flexion. 

The patient was examined in the Upright™ MRI, both recumbent and sitting upright, in hyperextension and in flexion.

Functional Imaging in the natural weight-bearing state
Sagittal inages, sitting in flexion, neutral, hyperextension and recumbent.

The diagnosis :

Constitutionally longer stretch relative osseous stenosis of the spinal canal from L1-S1. Significant additional restrictions  of the spinal canal at L2-L3 through disc protrusions. Slight decrease in vertebral canal stenosis in flexion, significant decrease in supine position. In hyperextension distinct pincer-shaped spinal stenosis at L2-L3 and L3-L4. At L4-L5 postoperatively nothing but implied spinal canal stenosis.

The MRI findings are compatible with a pseudo-radicular symptomatology as well as an intermittently occurrring intradural nerve entrapment syndrome dependent on the position.

Axial image at L3-L4 disc protrusion with significant constriction of the spinal canal and impression of the dural sack.
Axial image at L4-L5 bulging of the spina lcanal through the X-Stop implant in all positions.
This case history was kindly placed at our disposal by Prof. Dr. med. Hans-Konrad Beyer of the Private Practice for Upright™ Magnetic Resonance Imaging Cologne/Germany. You can reach the site at www.mrt-koeln.de

© Tecserena GmbH 2007 | Impressum / Rechtshinweise | Kontakt | Home
|Klinische Beispiele mit dem FONAR Upright™ MRT | Fallstudie #4
• Der FONAR Upright™ MRT
• Publikationen
• Die Positionen
• Die Spulen des FONAR Upright™ MRT
• Kontakt zu uns
• Fallstudie #1
• Fallstudie #2
• Fallstudie #3
• Fallstudie #4
• Fallstudie #5
• weitere Beispiele

Der hier vorgestellte Patient ist ein 64jähriger Mann der seit vielen Jahren unter Schmerzen im Bereich der LWS litt. Vor 1 1/2 Jahren wurde eine Wirbelsäulenoperation im Bereich von L4-L5 durchgeführt und erfolgreich ein sog. X-Stop Implantat eingesetzt, das zur Schmerzfreiheit führte.

Nun klagt der Patient wieder über Schmerzen im Bereich der LWS mit Ausstrahlungen in das Gesäß und in beide Oberschenkel. Im Liegen treten keine Schmerzen auf, im Stehen und im Sitzen jedoch deutliche Schmerzzunahme in Hyperextension, Schmerzentlastung in Flexion.

Der Patient wurde im Upright™ MRT untersucht, sowohl im Liegen als auch im aufrechten Sitzen, in Hyperextentension und in Flexion.

MRT-Funktionsuntersuchung, aufrecht unter der natürlichen Gewichtsbelastung
Sagittale Aufnahmen im Sitzen: Flexion, Neutral, Hyperextension. Vergleichsaufnahme im Liegen.

Die Diagnose:

Anlagebedingte längerstreckige relative knöcherne Enge des Spinalkanals von L1-S1. Erhebliche zusätzliche Einengung des Spinalkanals in Höhe von L2-L3 durch Discusprotrusionen. Leichte Abnahme der Wirbelkanalstenosen unter Flexion, deutliche Abnahme in Rückenlage. Unter Hyperextension ausgeprägte zangenförmige Spinalstenosen bei L2-L3 und L3-L4. Bei L4-L5 postoperativ nur noch angedeutete Spinalkanalstenose.

Der kernspintomographische Befund ist vereinbar mit einer pseudoradikulären Symptomatik als auch mit einer intermittierend auftretenden intraduralen Nervenkompression, abhängig von der Lage.

Axiale Aufnahme bei L3-L4 Discusprotrusion mit deutlicher Einengung des Spinalkanals und Impression des Duralsackes.
Axiale Aufnahme bei L4-L5 Aufweitung des Spinalkanals durch das X-Stop Implantat in allen Positionen.
Die hier vorgestellte Fallstudie wurde uns freundlicherweise von der Privatpraxis für Upright™ Kernspintomographie Köln-Rodenkirchen, Prof. Dr. med. Hans-Konrad Beyer, zur Verfügung gestellt. Die Praxisseiten erreichen Sie unter: www.mrt-koeln.de
• Fallstudie #6
• Fallstudie #7
• Fallstudie #8